Review – Memoirs Of A Gigolo: Volume Two By Livia Ellis

Title – Memoirs of a Gigolo: Volume TwoMemoirs Volume Two
Author: Livia Ellis
Rating: 5/5 Stars

“Before Oliver can embark on his new adventure, he needs to cut ties with his old life. Part of his new life is a new place to live. He takes up residence in the house, meets a few of his new roommates, then tries to get settled in. Of course, nothing is easy for Oliver. But at least he has Olga to help him learn what he needs to know. Before he takes on his first big money client, she gives him an introductory course in how to be a gigolo.” (description from Goodreads)

__________

As with Volume One of this series and the Halloween special, I enjoyed this installment of Memoirs of a Gigolo.

Livia Ellis has a way of making erotica on the same level as most of the rest of literature in many ways. There is a large amount of erotica out there that’s all scenes of sexual activity and almost no plot, if there is an apparent plot to begin with. This isn’t to say erotica like that shouldn’t be written. It’s more that I like a plot and a good amount of substance to everything I read, no matter the genre. Ellis delivers on all of this.

I’m fascinated to read the story behind how the main character and narrator Oliver became a gigolo. It’s not a story about all of his sexual encounters. This is the story of a man who is desperate enough to partake in prostitution in order to maintain his lifestyle in the upper-class and more.

In this installment, we get to see more of a development of Oliver’s character, as well as get to know Olga more. I also thought that getting a glimpse into the relationship between Oliver and his best friend, Elon, was a great addition. There is a depth to this story that I  can’t wait to explore more and more as the series continues.

I’d also like the make a note of the style of dialogue. Since this is written as a memoir, it reads like one, in a way. This is a recollection of past events. The dialogue is written in a one-sided way that has Oliver talking both parts as he remembers them. There isn’t a distinct “he said/I said” style. Well, it’s hard to explain without pulling quotes, but I enjoyed this styling because it’s different from what I’m used to reading. I also like that it enhances the memoir/diary experience that makes this series great.

Volume Three is on my Kindle and I’m going to get to reading it very soon!

__________

About Livia Ellis

Were I to write a personal ad about myself it would read as follows:

Blond. Blue. 5’6”. A lady never discloses her weight, but I’ve never had any complaints. I only run if I’m being chased by a gun wielding maniac, but I do love yoga. Bit of a shoe hound. Have had issues passing up handbags. Trying to learn to play the Irish harp. Enjoy both theater and concerts. Love to read fantasy and science fiction. Am not ashamed to admit I adore Star Trek. Have a picture of myself (dressed as a nun) and the late Patrick Swayze (dressed as a medieval warrior) in a frame (Yes – I did cry when he died). Perpetual student with advanced degrees that are mostly useless when seeking job opportunities outside academia. Vivid imagination. Sexually adventurous only on paper. I never know what to say when people end a conversation with ‘god bless’. Occasionally play the lottery – but generally only when I’m feeling really poor. Love to travel. Fluent French speaker. Seeks readers whom enjoy what I write.

Find more:

One response to “Review – Memoirs Of A Gigolo: Volume Two By Livia Ellis

  1. Pingback: Review: Memoirs of a Gigolo, Volume Three by Livia Ellis | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

