Review: Slipping, By Shandy L. Kurth

Title: Slipping
Author: Shandy L. Kurth
Rating: 4/5 Stars

“I think I’m losing my mind. The alternative would be I’m seeing ghosts. If I’m going crazy, I should check myself into a nuthouse as soon as possible. But if I’m not… if she’s really a ghost, listening to her could mean the difference between life and death.” (description from Goodreads)

__________

I really enjoyed what the author did with this story. It was short, simple, yet kept me questioning the main character’s sanity the entire time.

Kurth’s main character, Miles, is being followed around by the ghost of his dead younger sister. But he goes through the story debating whether or not she is real or a symptom of the combination of dealing with the stress of a recent breakup and the dead of his mother and sister a year earlier.

I spent most of the time reading trying to figure out the reality of the story along with Miles, but that’s not all. There is someone’s life at stake. Should Miles listen to the pleading of his sister’s joke, get himself some professional help, or blow it all off in hopes that it’ll go away? Well I can’t tell you what he should do. You need to read the story. But I also can’t tell you because, I’m still going over it all in my mind.

I really enjoyed the twist in this story as well. I definitely wasn’t expecting the story to go in the direction it did. I’m always a fan of surprises though.

__________

Think this is a story you’d enjoy? Well, it’s FREE, so it can’t really hurt too much to check it out 🙂
Grab a copy from Smashwords

For those who don’t use Smashwords, this story is also available on Amazon, but it’s not free just yet. It’s $0.99, but the author has told me she’s in the process of getting Amazon to make it free…they just take a long time to follow through.

__________

About The Author:

I was born and raised in Wichita Kansas. I love writing, reading, my pugs, my school kiddos and my hubby. I like to listen to Rock and Roll old or new and read just about anything YA although I’m still working on getting into the paranormal.

When I am writing I just can’t wait to see whats going to happen next! If you do not like my characters do not blame me, blame them! They have a mind of their own! Known for the roller coaster ride I take readers on! Happy Reading!

For more info:

Leave a Reply

