Guest Post From Molly Ringle, And Ebook Giveaway

Not too long ago I had the pleasure of discovering a new author through a guest post by Fred LeBaron. Fred did an Authors We Love post on Molly Ringle. I took interest in what Fred had to say, and that’s part of what the Authors We Love series is; to discover and seek out new authors/book to read.

So when I was contacted, asking whether or not I could host a guest post from Molly Ringle herself, I didn’t hesitate to accept. It’s with great pleasure that I present to you a post Molly wanted to share with you all. Please enjoy!

And don’t forget to check out the giveaway below the post for a chance to win one of Ringle’s ebooks.

__________

Sometimes you strike lucky. I definitely did when I queried Michelle Halket of Central Avenue Publishing, and ended up getting a manuscript accepted there. (And, a year or so later, another.) I already had a couple of books published with The Wild Rose Press, which has also provided me with a wonderful and personable small-press experience. But they don’t publish young adult, and I had a story or two that simply refused to work with older protagonists, so I’d begun to look around for other publishing options.

A post of Michelle’s – https://centralavenuepub.wordpress.com/2010/05/01/one-year-old-almost/ – inspired me to submit in the first place. In it, she sounded like a smart business person who was paying attention to the publishing industry and figuring out what sold best and what didn’t work, and changing her model accordingly. Plus she just sounded friendly–and never, in this job or any others, should you underestimate the importance of being friendly. Being a person other people can easily work with is often the difference between keeping your job and getting canned.

Michelle’s post turned out to be an accurate picture of her, and of Central Avenue Publishing on the whole. I’ve found the entire experience professional, warm, and considerate. When planning the cover art for my novels, Michelle asked me what I envisioned, and made adjustments based on my input–which is not a consideration every publishing house extends, I am told. Particularly cool was when I sent her a link to a gorgeous HDR-saturated photo of Edinburgh, which I’d seen on the wallpaper site InterFaceLift, and told her that “a shot like this” would be lovely on the cover of my novel What Scotland Taught Me. She promptly located the photographer, emailed him, and obtained his permission to use it. So I got that exact photo as my cover. Awesome. I still gaze at it once in a while and think, “Man, that’s beautiful.”

Both of my novels published at Central Avenue so far–What Scotland Taught Me and Relatively Honest–deal with themes of cheating and lying within the romantic relationships of 18- or 19-year-olds. And even though most people make a lot of mistakes during their teens (and twenties, and later too), I’ve learned that a small but vocal contingent of readers will not ever ever ever countenance cheaters or liars among their protagonists. Therefore, plenty of romance editors will not allow such themes either. But Michelle and the team at Central Avenue–along with lots of delightful, good-humored readers so far–have recognized that human folly makes for a juicy story, and have found sympathy and affection for my flawed characters.

To all those editors, readers, and fellow writers, I am forever grateful, and I continue to be highly satisfied with my seat among the authors’ roster at my small presses.

– Molly Ringle

__________

Giveaway:

In addition to the post, there’s an added bonus….a giveaway! Simply leave a comment on this post (along with an email to contact you at).  The giveaway ends in one week (December 5th at 11:59PM EST). The winner will be chosen at random soon after.

What’s the prize? Well none other than one of Molly Ringle’s great novels. The winner will choose between an ebook of  Relatively Honest and or an ebook of What Scotland Taught Me.

__________

About Molly Ringle

Molly Ringle has been writing fiction for over twenty years. With her intense devotion to silly humor, she was especially proud to win the grand prize in the 2010 Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest with one (intentionally) terrible sentence. Her academic studies include a bachelor of arts in anthropology (University of Oregon, Clark Honors College) and a master of arts in linguistics (University of California, Davis). Molly lives in Seattle with her husband and kids, and worships fragrances and chocolate.

To find more on Ringle:

 

23 responses to “Guest Post From Molly Ringle, And Ebook Giveaway

  1. So excited to see Molly here at Rob’s awesome blog, and to learn more about her experience in the small press YA world. We get so focused on indie vs. trad publishing that we forget there’s a “third way,” that preserves the benefits of both, to a significant extent. Thanks Rob, for hosting, and thanks Molly, for posting. Love both you guys!

  2. Thanks, Fred–I’m so glad you brought Robert’s blog to my attention. Hah, it’s funny, I only recently became aware that “indie” has started to mean “self-publishing.” For a while there I could swear it encompassed both self-pub and small-press, so I’d sometimes described my publishers as indie houses. (You know, like indie record labels…) Guess that might have led to some confusion. I try to call them only “small presses” now. And indeed, they can be a truly great option!

    • In my way of thinking, Indie is both small press and self-publishing. I think they with the surge in self-publishing recently, small press isn’t getting as much attention, though.

      While they are different, in some ways they are still similar options. The definition of small press is also to be questioned as there are some Indie authors grouping together to create places to help get self-published books out there through a semi-small press.

      It’s a great time to be in the publishing world, no matter which area of it you’re in. As long as we all keep in mind that we’re all authors/writers and one way of publishing isn’t “better” than another, I think it’s all great. Respect all across the board 😀

      On this topic (self-published, small press, and the Indie definition) there was an author who shared his thoughts back in July during my Indie Week. Here’s that post if you’d like to check it out: https://alifeamongthepages.wordpress.com/2012/07/11/indie-week-thomas-winship-indie-or-self-pubbed/

      • Agreed – I’ve read self-published books that any house would be proud to publish, and on the other hand, books from the biggest houses that…well, let’s be nice and say they could’ve been a lot better. 😉 I love how ebooks have taken off, and how the playing field has started to grow more level for all authors! We are in a fortunate time indeed.

  3. Holy frijoles, am I ever blushing over here! That was the nicest thing to read, thank you so much! Molly, it’s authors like you that make my raison d’être my raison de joie. Thank you. I am privileged to be surrounded by talent I only wish I possessed. But alas, writing was not in the cards for me, so I shall help foster the art by publishing it. Thanks again for the great post and to Robert for hosting Molly.

    • Happy to say so, Michelle! It took me years of fumbling around in the writing/publishing world, false starts with publishers and agents who ended up folding and so forth, but I feel like I’ve finally landed among people who are good to me (and good for my career). Most of us who write are not at all fond of the business and marketing side, so we’re quite grateful that you’re so good at it.

  4. What can i say? I’m in awe of your writing, Molly, and hope to read all your books soon, once the farm is under way and i can lazy around in a hammock!
    Bacci,
    Maura

  5. thanks Miss Molly for this giveaway contest! i hope i could win even im not from US. 😦 this will give a chance to read these books and im so excited about them now! much love and more power to you Miss Molly ❤

  6. I stumbled across Molly’s book on Goodreads a few days ago.I think I’d choose Relatively Honest,it sounds interesting.Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    • Thanks, Nuzaifa! Hah, that one really puts some people off, but others find it quite the interesting ride. Obviously the concept intrigued *me*. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

