Review: Divine Intervention By Dionne Lister

Title: Divine Intervention
Author: Dionne Lister
Rating: 5/5 Stars

“Maria’s life is falling apart. She thinks it’s almost a sign from God when an opportunity comes her way. But this opportunity is not as simple as it seems. What choice will she make?” (description from Goodreads)

__________

Many times do we have to make a difficult decision in life that threatens to disrupt every moral fiber of our being. Divine Intervention is a story that touches on a dilemma many people face when they fall on hard times.

The main character, Maria, is a poor maid for a wealthy family. The family members don’t seem to appreciate the money, material, and quality of life they have. This is something I’ve seen in life before and I was able to sympathize with Maria’s point of view.

When faced with a tough decision (won’t name it to avoid spoiling anything), Maria makes it hard for me to see a straightforward answer, as well. I don’t know what I’d do in her situation. I feel that this added a lot to the story. It wasn’t only about what Maria was going through. It brings the reader into the story, putting him or her IN Maria’s shoes.

Ok, you get it. Maria has a tough decision to make. There’s more to the story, as well. I wasn’t expecting the story to end like it did, either. And even when I thought I predicted the ways it could go as events unfolded, I still wasn’t right. I always enjoy an ending that stumped me. Being surprised by it left me smiling in the end…but I won’t tell you why.

I’ll close with this statement. At first, I rated Divine Intervention with 4 out of 5 stars. Halfway through writing this review, I couldn’t leave it at 4 stars. I added the 5th star because through reflecting on it a little bit more, I realized just what Lister had accomplished with her story. There was a deeper meaning and cause for self-reflection after reading the story. I really appreciate a stories that do this.

__________

About Dionne Lister:

Hi, I’m a writer from Sydney.  I’m mid way through an Associate Degree of Creative writing through Southern Cross University.

I love reading, writing and entertaining people with my stories.

I write web copy, articles, suspenseful short stories and my blog posts try to be funny.  I’ve also released an action-packed fantasy/adventure novel.

As my tag on twitter says, “I love sharing my stories but I wish they wouldn’t keep me awake at night.”

I hope you enjoy your visit :)

For more on Dionne:

One response to “Review: Divine Intervention By Dionne Lister

  1. Aw, thanks Rob! What a fantastic review. I get so much satisfaction when a reader relates to and enjoys my stories. I appreciate you taking the time to review it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

