Prelude To Madness Tour: Interview With Noree Cosper

It’s my pleasure to bring you, my readers, an interview with the author of A Prescription for Delirium, Noree Cosper. I’ve gotten to know Noree for most of this year and have looked forward to reading her book from it’s first mention…then I got the chance to read an ARC last month: It was great! I can’t wait until it’s unleashed unto the world on December 1st.

Before I get to the interview, here’s a little bit about the book. That way you have some more to work with 🙂

Ninety years ago, Gabriella di Luca promised to protect the family of her dying lover. She failed to keep that promise.  She was too far away to stop the devil that murdered the eldest Van Helsing son. Years later, Gabby learns the devil has resurfaced. She arrives in Hampton, TX, determined to stop the devil before it can lay a bloody hand on the remaining three brothers.

 

However, madness is spreading through Hampton. She suspects the devil is using this madness to test a drug which has a side effect of demonic possession.  Gabby rushes to end the source of the madness only to fall victim to it. For a woman cursed with eternal life, dying is no threat. However, Gabby must stop the devil’s plot or risk losing her most precious possession: her mind.


A Prescription for Delirium is released on December 1st, 2012.

__________

  • What is your background with demons? Did you have to do extensive research on the mythology A Prescription For Delirium follows.

    • I have always loved most things supernatural or mythological, so a lot off my background comes from the things accumulated in my head over the years. Still, I had to come up with a bit off research to build the history on the demons. *laughs* You could say it’s still growing. I did a lot of searches on the internet, especially about Solomon and his spirits. You see King Solomon bound demons when he was alive. Supposedly, during the 15th or 16th century a book was circulated that claimed have his methods. It is not said to be a fake. This was known as the Key of Solomon. I took a lot from there as well as myths from around the world. Then I added my own twist to work in my world.

  • The Flower of Hell is a short story you wrote for the collection Paramourtal: Tales of Undying Love and Loving the Undead. Did you write the story with the idea of it being a prequel to Prescription, or was the novel not even an idea at the time?

    • At the time I wrote “Flower of Hell” I was in the middle of a different series altogether. The thought of a novel crossed my mind, but I pushed it to the side altogether. Sad to say, the other series didn’t work out and I decided I wanted to play in Gabby’s world more.

  • Who was one of your favorite characters to write for the novel?

    • Gabby will always be my favorite.

  • What is your plan for the Van Helsing Organization series? How many book will there be. And if it won’t spoil anything, will it be focusing on this generation of Van Helsings or will it go farther?

    • I have vast plans for the Van Helsings. *chuckles* Ok, I’m partially joking. There is an underlying plot throughout the books that will show itself as they go on. It will focus on this generation. I’m planning for about 10 books or so, though after the first 6 books things aren’t as planned out.

  • Are there any authors who you can list that have influenced your writing? Who are some favorite authors that you read?

    • Early Laurell K Hamilton is a big influence. She introduced me to Urban Fantasy. My favorite is Neil Gaiman. I really aspire to be great like him. Recently, I’ve developed a love for Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files.

  • Aside from writing what are some of your hobbies?

    • Reading. Video Games, especially MMOs like “The Secret World.” I also enjoy table-top roleplaying like D&D and World of Darkness.

  • This seems to be a popular thing to ask authors and fans lately, so I’ll do it as well. If a movie for A Prescription For Delirium were to be made, who’d be some of the actors you’d want to see cast for the MCs?

    • I’m cheating these aren’t just actors but musicians as well. These are the people who fit best in my mind:
      • For Gabby I would chose Cristina Scabbia from Lacuna Coil. If you follow me on twitter you know I have a slight obsession with her.

      • For Esais I would choose Brandon Routh. Superman to the rescue!

      • For Adrian I would choose Shooter Jennings. Another musician.

      • For Tres I would choose Andrei Andrei Aaliyah. He’s a Romanian Model.

      • For Marge I would choose Jennifer Morrison. Really her “Once Upon a Time” Version.

      • And last but no least, for John I’d pick Bradley Cooper. He has that easy going smile.

__________

Noree Cosper loves writing about magic in the modern world. While growing up in Texas she constantly searched for mystical elements in the mundane. She buried her nose in both fiction and books about Wicca, Religion, and Mythology. Everyday became an adventure as she joined a group of role-players, acting out her fantasies of vampires, demons, and monsters living in the world.

She embraced her nerdom wholeheartedly.

Noree grew, but never left her love for fantasy and horror. Her dreams pushed her and her hand itched to write the visions she saw. So, with her fingers on the keys, she did what her heart had been telling her to do since childhood. She wrote.

Noree can be found stalking people on Twitter and Facebook.

Be sure to check out her website for news on her works and tidbits of information

She also likes to ramble about things magical and supernatural on her blog Trip the Eclipse.

 

3 responses to “Prelude To Madness Tour: Interview With Noree Cosper

Leave a Reply

