Review: Their Promise by Brina Courtney

Title: Their Promise
Author: Brina Courtney
Rating: 4/5 Stars

“One moment can change your life.
One moment to find love.
One moment to lose it.” (description from Goodreads)

__________

It’s not often that a book has a description as short as this book does. It’s just three sentences, but those sentences tell so much. The description sums up a key moment in the book, but there is also so much more before and after that moment that adds to the readers enjoyment.

This novella was recommended to me by another great author of contemporary YA and I’m glad I didn’t hesitate to buy it. I started it in the morning and had to force myself to put it down every now and then to get “real world things” done. I was hooked from the beginning by the very well written romance between the main character Hannah and the love of her life Chase.

When I got near the halfway mark in this book I had a clear prediction of where I saw the story going. Then it was shattered completely without much warning at all. I was completely caught off-guard by the major plot twist that occurred and I couldn’t have asked for anything more. It’s hard to shock me like this, I applaud the author here.

From there the story continues, sometimes at a slower pace because not as much happens. This isn’t a terrible thing. The story needs to slow down and have nothing happen in order to convey just what’s going on in Hannah’s life. I can’t talk too much on that in order to avoid spoiling too much. Spoilers would be very easy to give out for this story, so I’m trying to be very vague. Especially vague for the second half.

For this second half, unlike the first, I couldn’t really make a clear prediction of the ending. There were so many possible outcomes, but I was happy in the end. It was what I wanted, especially out of the more severe situations I could have thought up.

This was a great novella to pick up. It wasn’t the happiest at time, to put it kindly. There are many emotions that get played with throughout the book. Be ready to smile, laugh, and cry with this one. I mean that in the best way possible.

__________

This book can be purchased from Amazon, B&N, & Smashwords

For more on the author:

3 responses to “Review: Their Promise by Brina Courtney

  1. Pingback: #CoverReveal: Stealing Promises, by Brina Courtney | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

