Found Poems…In Book Titles

I listen to a few podcasts on iTunes, and most are literarily based. That’s totally not a word, but I like it ๐Ÿ™‚ So yea, I listen to podcasts. Mainly they “BOOK” related. One’s called IndieFeed: Performance Poetry. That one’s exactly what it sounds like; poetry that’s performed, many are live slam poems. I also listen to The Moth podcast. That one’s performances of storytellers getting up on stage and telling a personal story of theirs. There are also two that are directly book podcasts. They are The Readers, two guys from the UK who talk about books all the time. And the podcast I found The Readers though, Books on the Nightstand. This is similar to The Readers, but it’s from America and has been going on for a few years now.

Enough with the overview of my podcast listening habits. Even I admit that was boring to read. So the point of starting out like that was to set up the fact that the idea for this post was sparked by the latest Books on the Nightstand episode. In it they talked about found poetry created by stacking books together. I’ve seen this done in the past all over the internet, but I never really sat down to create any. This morning I checked that box off my bucket list (no, my life isn’t that boring where it was actually on my bucket list…I don’t even have a list).

I’d like to share a few I made so far with you. Keep in mind I just looked at a few of my paperback stacks so far and did them in a few minutes. Don’t expect masterpieces just yet. And please, go to your shelves and create some yourself. It’s more fun than it may seem. If enough people are interested, I’d like to put together a post of guest poems (with pictures). If you want to take part in this, please email the picture to me soon. Maybe I could get a post together for next week. (My email is in the about me section, like always).

Enjoy! ๐Ÿ˜€

P.S. – The author’s name doesn’t get read. It’s just kind of there and in the way ๐Ÿ˜›

fancy lineresize

Once there was a war.
a clash of kings;
better times than these.

A separate peace,
all quiet on the western front
to the lighthouse.

fancy lineresize

The lost boy,
Johnny, got his gun.
It came from Schenectady.

In dubious battle.
In cold blood.

Goodbye, Mr. Chips.

fancy lineresize

The Black Arrow
kidnapped
the Master of Ballantrae.

A night to remember.

fancy lineresize

The good soldier
travels with Charley
on her Majesty’s Secret Service;
The incredible journey.

9 responses to “Found Poems…In Book Titles

  1. How did you get all the books to be about the same size? Ha ha, this is awesome–must take a look at my bookshelf!

    • It’s really not that hard to find the “same sized” books. At least within like a half cm or so. All mass market pb (aside from those stupid tall ones they make recently) are roughly the same. It’s the only way they stack so nicely on my shelves as well ๐Ÿ™‚

        • I think the means you need me to come over and reorganize things for you. I’m almost too good at making “perfect” stacks of books mainly by size. And it saves a good amount of space since I can pack them in nice and tight.

  2. Pingback: Book Title Poems, With Guests | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

