Review: Point Of Retreat, by Colleen Hoover

Title: Point of Retreat (Slammed Series #2)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Rating 5/5 Stars

“Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’” (Description from Goodreads)

__________

Point of Retreat is a great follow-up to Hoover’s Slammed. Everything that made me thoroughly enjoy Slammed is also in Point of Retreat. The characters are all back, and they are also developed more (which is expected in a sequel). I feel this made me enjoy some even more. There are also some new characters, Kiersten in particular, that made this book what it is. Without the addition of Kiersten and her mother, I think some odd moments would be missing.

One of the initial shocks this book gave me was the point of view switch. Slammed was told from the first person point of view of Layken. Point of Retreat is told by Will. This took me a chapter or two to get used to and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to accept this. I was so used to hearing Layken talk that reading a story from Will felt wrong. I’m glad I opened up to him though. There’s no way this story would have been as successful if Layken were telling it.

It also helped having Will’s side of the relationship. He is the “more adult” of the group but seeing his struggles and imperfections makes his character more relatable and likable. Aside from his strange outbursts in Slammed I saw him as almost too perfect. But he’s far from it, and like Layken and everyone else, he’s also struggling to keep it together.

Hoover seems to have mastered the art of blindsiding the reader with many unexpected events. A few plot twists in Point of Retreat are no exception. I can’t tell what they are, but something MAJOR happens in the second half of the book that, although there is some foreshadowing a few sentences beforehand, I would not have guessed would happen. This is just after something great happens. So what better time to throw a curve ball? There is none, I tell you.

Basically if you’ve read/loved Slammed, I suggest you continue the story and read Point of Retreat. I don’t think a fan would be disappointed. If you read the first book and didn’t love it completely, maybe Point of Retreat will still be to your enjoyment, maybe even more than Slammed.

Whatever you do, I do think both of these books are worth a read. The series is butterflying great! (If you don’t understand that, you obviously haven’t met Kiersten 😉 )

__________

You can purchase this book from Amazon and B&N. You can also find Slammed from Amazon and B&N to begin the series 🙂

I’d also like to congratulated Colleen Hoover on the re-release of both Slammed Point of Retreat through Atria Books, under Simon and Schuster. I’m glad there are Indie authors who are out there getting noticed. Just shows that there are authors who may not be under a traditional publisher but still have great books to read.

Find more on Colleen Hoover:

3 responses to “Review: Point Of Retreat, by Colleen Hoover

  1. Interesting that she changed who the story was told by. In my trilogy, I briefly considered writing the third book in third person limited as opposed to first like in the first two. I was not brave enough to make this change though. So, good on her for going for it and it sounds like she pulled it off! Hats off

    • Yea, it’s a first for me. I’ve never seen anything like it in a series. I think the reason I was thrown off by it initially was the fact that i was expecting it to be from Layken’s POV. But as I said in the review, I feel it needed to be from Will’s POV for this one.

  2. Pingback: Review: Hopeless, by Colleen Hoover | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

