Aged Pages: For The Love Of Books

Aged Pages, new banner
fancy lineresize

How far would you go to get more books? What would you do to feed that craving to buy just one more book, even when you banned yourself from doing so? (You know we all put up a ban, but we’ll break it the moment we smell some books a mile away.)

My answer to that question is that I’d go pretty far. Today I took a trip to my local used bookstore, Catnap Books. You know I love this store. And I love it so much that I took my bike there. I don’t have a car (or even a license) so my bike is my only real option, though a majority of the time I go there when someone else around here is heading into town. The reason taking my bike to the bookstore is “outrageous” is because it’s ten miles from my house. Still this isn’t much of a distance for most people…but for me it’s the ten miles back UPHILL that can easily kill me.

I’m not exaggerating when I say uphill. I live in a town called Summit. It’s named that for an obvious reason. My house is roughly 2300 feet in elevation. When I say I’m going to “town” I mean I’m going to Cobleskill. That nestled in the valley like most of the rest of my county. It’s easily 1000 feet lower in elevation. To put this in perspective a little: It takes me about 30 minutes to go to the bookstore from my house. It takes me roughly 1.5 hours to go back…that’s on a good day.

Today was one of the days I went to these measure to visit the bookstore. It’s been over a week since I was there and well the urge has been hitting me.

To reward myself to surviving the journey down I bought some books (of course). And since this is a little outside the realm of most Aged Pages posts I’ll keep up the theme. Here’s a little bit about what I bought.

Since I’ve discovered Robert Bloch, I’ve been on the lookout for his books. I’ve also been searching the shelves for anthologies including him. I found one such collection today. It’s A Sea of Space. It’s a sci-fi collection of stories from 1970 that has a Bloch story as well as Bradbury and..well that’s the only other author of know of, but I’m also not well versed in sci-fi yet. I hope to fix that.

From the Bloch best of collection I talked about in the Authors We Love post about him, I found Lester Del Rey (who wrote the intro for that book). There was one book by him in the store (Siege Perilous) and I grabbed it. It’s some sci-fi story, but I didn’t look much into what it’s about. I’m not too picky when there’s a selection of ONE book by an author, haha. I’m not shallow. Also when he has a publishing house (well a branch under a larger publisher) you kind of need to read something by him. Just to know what got him the job.

Thirdly, I found a copy of The Twilight Zone. I haven’t seen too many episodes of the show, but I figured a book from the iconic television series could be entertaining. To be honest I don’t know if it was a show or literature first, or may be both around the same time, but I’m looking forward to reading it in book form. Especially when the subtitle is “Thrilling tales from the supernatural especially written for young people.” See it’s a YA collection before YA was a thing…very hipster 😉

MUMMY STORIES!!!!! That’s the title of this next find. I love that I found this. I’ve been having the thought in my mind that I keep forgetting to ask to the masses. “Where are the MUMMY stories?!?!?!” There are shit-loads of vampires, werewolves, witches, and even angels. While I haven’t really seen any Frankenstein monsters running around (except for Dean Koontz’s great series) (also, if you know of any, please let me know. I could use some.) I have seen less mummies show up in today’s writing. They are classic monsters and I feel that there needs to be more of them. This is a collection of stories from newer authors as well as Sir Conan Doyle and Edgar Allan Poe. It’s from 1990, so it doesn’t answer my question of where are all the mummies 😛 But what it does do, is give me some stories to get through while the search continues…and there’s a Robert Bloch story in there (didn’t know that until I just read through the authors).

I’ll skim over this book quickly. I bought a copy of The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency. Why? I don’t really know, but why not. Maybe it won’t be girly like the title could suggest. It is written by a man, so that makes it that much more intriguing. Same thing with the pink coffee mug on the cover, haha.

Lastly, really, it’s the last book I bought today. After this you may all go about your day. I found a book when I was checking out called Dirt Cheap. All I know about this is that I have a strong memory of meeting the author (kind of ) a few years ago at my first college. For a sociology class we were required to go to a lecture from (who I think) was the author Lyn Miller-Lachmann. Yes, I just confirmed this. Sorry for the randomness. I’m writing this as I’m searching an old pocket sized notebook from that year. It was Dr. Miller who I listened to at the lecture. It was about the book as well as the real life environmental concerns of a New York town (I think it was NY, I could be wrong). Well basically I saw the title on the cover and the memory of the lecture popped up and I bought the book. Why not. I saw the author, listened to her talk, and the least I can do is spend two bucks on her book….lol

Ok so that’s the end of what turned out to be a long and very random rant about what I bought. I hope the main point that I started talking about came through. I don’t feel like going through and editing more of that in here. I’m lazy and tired from riding around 20 miles on the bike today. I’m going to go sit down with a book now.

Remember to ask yourself…how far would you go to get some books? Would you fight a horde of zombies to get to a bookstore? (I’ll leave it at that. On the ride, I thought about discussing the possibility of various apocalyptic scenarios and how I’d get my book fix…but I got sidetracked as always.)

2 responses to “Aged Pages: For The Love Of Books

Leave a Reply

