Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Title: Slammed (Slammed Series #1)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Rating: 5/5 stars

“Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope. 
Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.
Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart. ” (description from Goodreads)

__________

What made me pick up this book was the slam poetry aspect of it. It also helped that the brilliant author Tiffany King has tweeted it and I took that as a recommendation coming from her. I’m a poet and I’m a lover of a great story. This book seemed like a promising combination of the two.

There are many things I enjoyed about this book. Many things. One WAS the use of poetry. It wasn’t just thrown in there for the sake of having a poet as a character. Hoover was able to weave poetry throughout the story, in the classroom, at the slams themselves, and into the lives of the characters. I feel this was a strong part of the book.

Going into the book I knew there’s be a romance, but I wasn’t prepared for this particular one. There was so much tension and risk and emotion thrown every which way that I had to keep reading to find out what was going to happen. There were also many curve balls throw into the mix that helped surprise me and add to the intrigue of finishing the book.

What else should a book have in it? Characters, that’s what. One of my favorites was Eddie. She was always fun but could be there to take charge when needed. And the poem she reads at the slam….you’ll just need to read the book to know about that one. Kel and Caulder are also great. Some of the things they do and say made me laugh. Sometimes it was an uncomfortable laugh due to the situation, but it was still those two (especially Kel) that made the situations work out better.

Let me tell you a little bit about Will. I can see why women would fall in love with him. He is just a great guy all-round. I feel that the author was able to make him “sexy” and “swoon-worthy” (yes, that’s right..I said that) without having him gleaming with sweat and panting in a girls window while she sleeps. He was a real young man. I think he’s everything a mother could hope her daughter finds and exactly what that daughter would want to find. Ok, enough about the weird man-crush…?!?!?!

This book really sucked me in during the last half or so. The emotions from then on, the information, and events that took place had me flipping page after page and almost out of breath. I HAD to keep going. I was in the car for a 30 minute drive and when the car stopped I didn’t know how I got to the destination. That’s how glued to the story I was, and I had read almost half the book.

Let’s put it together like this: Before writing this review I opened up its sequel Point of Retreat. I had to force myself to look away after the first chapter in order to  get this review out. I needed to keep going that much, but I also needed to get my thoughts out about this book 🙂

One last thing I can’t leave out of the review. Hoover began each chapter with a quote from the music of The Avett Brothers. Their music plays a big part in this book and in general they are great musicians to check out. If you don’t know them, I recommend you check them out.

__________

You can purchase this book from:

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

You can also find Point of Retreat from:

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

Find more on:

5 responses to “Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

  1. This sounds great. I am sometimes a little wary of romance stories, but they can also be the most powerful ones. It sounds like this one may fall in with the latter. Putting this on my to-read list!

    • I know what you mean about romance stories. At the same time, there are many “powerful ones” as you stated. I feel this one falls into that category.

      I’m currently halfway through the sequel (Point of Retreat) and it’s also living up to the hype this series has gotten. I hope you enjoy the book(s) as much as I am.

  2. Pingback: Top Books & Authors & Summary of 2012! | A Life Among The Pages

  3. Pingback: Review: Hopeless, by Colleen Hoover | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

