Authors We Love, Part XXI: Hooked On Tess, With Cinta Garcia

line-37709

As Rob said in his last AWL post, we don’t need to know an author for a long time to love their work. Three years ago, I was recommended to read a book by Tess Gerritsen, and since then I love her books.

Tess Gerritsen started writing romance novels, but ten years later she changed to a different genre. She started writing medical and crime thrillers. Since she had been a medical doctor before devoting herself to writing full time, her knowledge is very useful for her to create reliable and interesting stories.

Apart from her romantic novels and her four medical thrillers, she has written some stand-alone books and the series of thrillers that made her even more famous. Her Rizzoli/Isles series of nine thrillers has been so successful that these books inspired a television series (these days we can watch that series in TNT here in Spain, but I still prefer the books).

Well, the fact is that, knowing that I am a sucker for a good thriller (yeah, even Jane Austen fans can enjoy a good thriller), I was recommended to read her books. So I bought a second-hand edition of The Surgeon, the first book in the Rizzoli/Isles series, and I loved it! After that, I got so hooked that I bought the whole series.

But, why do I love her books so much? Well, because they are intelligent stories with very clever plots. In her novels nobody is who seems to be at first sight, and the suspense can be felt all over the book. I like reading novels that surprise me, and Tess Gerritsen’s novels never fail to surprise me. The unexpected twists in her stories are so unexpected that I have actually gasped while reading the books.

Another feature that I love about her novels is that the characters are very realistic. She describes them wonderfully well, and they have traits that the reader can feel related to. When I can picture a character in my mind effortlessly, or when I can have feelings for those characters, I think that the author has done a very good job as far as characterization is concerned. And Tess Gerritsen creates characters who feel so real that they could even be your neighbours.

Tess Gerritsen, in my opinion, is a natural thriller writer. Gripping plots, great characters, and amazing twists in the stories that will keep you reading till you realise that it is past your bedtime. I am very happy that I happened to know this great author. Fantastic novels for lovers of thrillers. She hasn’t been influential in my writing, but I really enjoy reading her novels. After all, we don’t need to be influenced by every single writer that we read, right? 😀

Anyways, this was another author that I love. Tess Gerritsen, remember the name. And I avoided talking about Jane Austen once again, so all of you should be happy LOL.

Thanks, Rob, for hosting me once again in your blog. You know yours is my favourite blog. Keep up with the good job!

line-37709

About Cinta:

Cinta García de la Rosa is a Spanish teacher who always dreamt of being a writer. So she writes, every day, compulsively. Always active, she is also an avid reader, a blogger and a book reviewer. Her first writings were in Spanish, but, since she got her BA in English Studies, she decided to start writing in English. Now, she feels more comfortable writing in English than in her mother tongue. She is finishing the editing and formatting of her first book “The Funny Adventures of Little Nani”, a collection of stories for children, with illustrations and other surprises. She is also working in other projects: a collection of short stories and a novelette based on the British Regency period. Apart from writing and reading, she enjoys meeting new people, dancing, and traveling.”

Find more from Cinta:

Cinta has also recently begun a great new series similar to Authors We Love. It’s called “Books I Don’t Mind Re-reading a Million Times.” I know that this will be a great series to read, and a great way to get to know Cinta more. I hope you all check it out and find some more great authors and books to read.

4 responses to “Authors We Love, Part XXI: Hooked On Tess, With Cinta Garcia

  1. Great post Cinta, I shall have to look up her books! I haven’t seen the TV series, so it would be great to start with the books first and see what they are like. And it’s also interesting that she has so many genres under her belt-multi-talented!

    Also, I would like to note you mention Jane Austen twice. 😀

Leave a Reply

