Review: With You In Spirit by Miranda Stork

Title: With You in Spirit (The Bassinville Witches Series #1)
Author: Miranda Stork
Rating: 4/5 Stars

Catherine has enough problems in her life without adding more. She lives in a town full of Wiccan witches, where she holds absolutely no powers. Her best friends seem to take all the best men, and her work colleague has a major crush on her. Other than that, life is pretty sweet.

Until a dagger appears in her bedroom, bringing back frightening memories of a past both her mother and herself left behind long ago. The ghosts of the past refuse to stay buried however, and they threaten to swallow both of them whole, closing in on them…

And then the charming, roguish Mr Rouquette appears. He is gorgeous, kind, and clever…so why does it feel as though there is something not quite right about him? And can Catherine trust him at all when her world begins to crumble around her feet, and he seems to be at the centre of it all?…
(Description from Goodreads)

__________

I know of Stork’s work. She has her novel Conner out, but I haven’t gotten to read it yet. Same thing with a paranormal erotica collection Craving. I figured the best place to start with a small amount of reading time was with this one. Now I’m eagerly awaiting the second in the series.

I was intrigued by the setting of this story. It takes place in the southern United States….deep south. It’s a small town that’s closed off enough from the surrounding areas to allow its history of being a Wiccan community to thrive. This was very cool. It felt like something that could actually happen in the real world (if you leave out the debate of whether or not magic and all that is real). Basically, you really never know what goes on in small communities. Everyone knows everyone so it’s easy to keep a secret like this from the outside world. Because this is a novella, there wasn’t a wide cast of characters. I hope that in later installments Stork will give us more glances into what the town has to offer. Small towns always have interesting people in them.

What I was also drawn to was the language. It’s not really something to always mention, but I feel I need to. Miranda Stork is from the UK and she’s writing a story that takes place in the US. Not really a big deal, but I found entertaining to read words that aren’t used in America describe various things in the story. This also helped reflect that the main character Catherine is a native of England. The combination of a UK character living and author writing in the United States just jumped out at me. It had a very American feel to it, so it was strangely good.

Another thing to note is the character of Mr. Caden Rouquette. He’s pretty much a cowboy ____….wait I can’t tell you what that blank should say. You’ll just have to read about it. But I really thought it was cool to have a character like that. He was a mystery like most men in the books I’ve been reading. And while I’m not into them myself, I can see qualities that women will probably swoon over for awhile.

The driving plot of this story, the mystery of who’s out to harm Catherine and her mother, and what they want to do that for had me wondering the whole time. I was questioning my judgement of characters left and right. At the reveal I was left with more questions; left wanting more…the second novella in the series. If this was the peril already, what will happen next? I guess I’m going to have to grab Playing With Fire when it comes out.

__________

I was born in Guisborough, North Yorkshire in 1987 and have lived in various places around Britain, including Newcastle and Glasgow.

My writing is inspired by various writers, including the vivid characters of Charles Dickens, the imagination of Stephen King, and the gothic imagery of Anne Rice.

My love of horror began at an early age, when I was only three or four. I could read proficiently at the age of three, and devoured fairy-stories, but I always had a bent towards the darker stories, such as the Brother’s Grimm’s tales…Red Riding Hood was always a firm favourite, although I always felt sorry for the wolf, despite him having tried to eat everyone!

Find more on Miranda:

7 responses to “Review: With You In Spirit by Miranda Stork

  1. Thank you so much! I’m so pleased you liked the mixture of languages-as I started writing it, I did ponder about making it American, but then thought as the main character was English, it would hopefully carry over. I’m waiting for the next one myself, hurry up KDP! 😀

    Thanks again for the great review, always makes me smile when someone likes my work 🙂

  2. Pingback: Great New Releases From This Week! | A Life Among The Pages

  3. Pingback: Great New Releases For This Week! | A Life Among The Pages

  4. Pingback: Interview with Miranda Stork And The Bassinville Witches Series | A Life Among The Pages

  5. Pingback: I HIT TEN THOUSAND VIEWS!!! GIVEAWAY!!!!!! | A Life Among The Pages

  6. Pingback: Review: An Ill Wind by Miranda Stork | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

