Authors We Love, Part XIV: Cassidy Kingston & …The History Channel?

line-37709

I love so many authors that it was hard for me to choose just one. The way I narrowed down my selection was by asking people if they had heard of authors that I absolutely LOVE!!! The two that got the most “Ummm no who’s that?” answers are the two I picked.

The one I will be writing about this time is Brad Meltzer. I had a lot of people answers, “Oh yeah, he does that Decoded show.” We yes, that is correct. But did you know he was also an awesome writer? “NO.” One wayward soul, who’s name will not be mentions for fear of embarrassing them (but you know who you are) actually said, “Yeah he wrote the Da Vinci Code.” No…no he did not. (PS I still love this person)

My first experience with Brad Meltzer was The Book of Fate. It is a well written, fast paced novel that had me enthralled from the first page. I am not normally into the political books, but his writing just appeals to me in a way that is very hard to describe. Soon after reading this novel I quickly finished every book I could find by him.

My absolute favorite book by Meltzer is The Book of Lies.

In Chapter Four of the Bible, Cain kills Abel. It is the world’s most famous murder. But the Bible is silent about one key detail: the weapon Cain used to kill his brother. That weapon is still lost to history.

In 1932, Mitchell Siegel was killed by three gunshots to his chest. While mourning, his son dreamed of a bulletproof man and created the world’s greatest hero: Superman. And like Cain’s murder weapon, the gun used in this unsolved murder has never been found.

Until now.

Today in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Cal Harper comes face-to-face with his family’s greatest secret: his long-lost father, who’s been shot with a gun that traces back to Mitchell Siegel’s 1932 murder. But before Cal can ask a single question, he and his father are attacked by a ruthless killer tattooed with the ancient markings of Cain. And so begins the chase for the world’s first murder weapon.

What does Cain, history’s greatest villain, have to do with Superman, the world’s greatest hero? And what do two murders, committed thousands of years apart, have in common? This is the mystery at the heart of Brad Meltzer’s riveting and utterly intriguing new thriller.

I mean, come on…if reading that did not make you want to run out and read it there is something wrong. J All of his novels have the political/conspiracy aspects to them. And all of them are AWESOME!!!

He also has two non-fiction works, Heroes for my Son and Heroes for my Daughter. These books are great because they list people that our young children should look up to. If you have young kids I highly suggest you get these books for them…NOW!

In Heroes for My Daughter, the New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer brings together the stories of fifty-five remarkable people, a diverse set of individuals from across time and from all walks of life: artists and inventors, scientists and explorers, who each dedicated their life to making our world a better place. From Eleanor Roosevelt to Amelia Earhart, Anne Frank to Randy Pausch, Theodore Roosevelt to Lucille Ball, Rosa Parks to the passengers on United Flight 93, the lives of these men and women offer lessons to guide our daughters on their journey to adulthood—lessons sure to inspire them as they take their place as citizens in our society and in the world. The stories told in Heroes for My Daughter are perfect for mothers and daughters to read and treasure together.

But what made me really fall in love with Brad Meltzer was when I found out that he not only loved comic books, but actually WROTE THEM!!!! He has written Identity Crisis, Justice League of America Vol 1, Absolute Identity Crisis and Green arrow. As someone who is currently making a Captain America dress for Dragon*Con, the fact that he can write awesome novels AND comic books…makes him one hell of a catch.

And for all of you in the Wehdonverse, he wrote Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 vol 7.

We can not forget the TV show, Decoded. It is absolutely wonderful. I mean he tracks down such things as “what’s actually inFortKnox” and “what’s behind the Georgia Guidestones?” And for your information, I am on the look out at every yard sale I see for the original copy of the declaration of independence.

 Just don’t ever tweet that you find him “oddly attractive” It will garner you the wrath of his devoted fans…even if you mean it as a compliment.

If you follow him on twitter you will see that he loves his kids, is very smart, has a great sense of humor and has a Muppet made in his likeness…Ask him, he’ll show you the picture.

line-37709

Cassidy is a married mother of three who writes paranormal erotic romances in her spare time. She has a Degree in Animal and Ecological Biology as well as one in Developmental Psychology. She currently has two short stories out with Torrid Book and has three more coming out with them later this year and early next year. You can find her short stories at www.torridbooks.com, Amazon, B&N, and All Romance ebooks.

2 responses to “Authors We Love, Part XIV: Cassidy Kingston & …The History Channel?

  1. I’ve watched Decoded before and knew he was an author, but I’ve never really checked it out much. I will definately have to do that now! His books sound great!

  2. Wow. I can’t believe I’ve only now been introduced to Brad Meltzer – and he’s done So much. I briefly heard him speak in an interview with the bookreportradio show (well in the archive), and he told the story of him signing books one day, and how he had in-scripted ‘Make the right enemies’, inside the cover for a mother – getting the book for her daughter. The mother had written him an email, telling him that she was at a loss as to explain it to her daughter. Ho told her thus: If you have enemies, that’s good. It means you’ve stood up for something in your life.

Leave a Reply

