An Interview with Author S.M. Boyce, A Stop Along The Lichgates Hidden World Blog Tour

____________________

I have the pleasure of hosting the amazing S.M. Boyce for today’s Lichgates Hidden World Blog Tour stop. It’s been a great tour so far with many, many great blogs taking part. It’s coming to a close soon, but let’s go out with a bang!

Today’s stop is an interview with the author. She was kind enough to answer a few of my questions and I love her answers. I hope you enjoy them as much as I have.  When you’re done continue to the giveaway form for a chance to win some great Lichgates stuff. There’s also a banner at the bottom that will direct you to the GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY!

____________________

  • I see on your site that you hold a B.A. in Creative Writing. Why did you pursue a degree in CW and do you think you benefit from it as opposed to authors who have chosen different paths?

I actually started my college career as a theatre student, but over time realized that it wasn’t what I wanted to do with my life. I’d always written, so my Mom encouraged me to check out the writing program. I’m so glad I did. Turns out that I happened to be attending a school with one of the nation’s top writing programs! How’s that for luck? My professors at Florida State were talented, and I know I’m better off for what I learned. They helped me to hone my skills as a writer, and I would go back and do it again without hesitation.

  • The Grimoire is set to be a trilogy, with the first book Lichgates already published. What was the inspiration for this set of books and did you know from the beginning that the idea would yield a trilogy?

Actually, Lichgates was initially book one of a four-part series. It was supposed to represent the four elements, as well as the four aspects of the self: physical, spiritual, emotional, and mental. Those themes died away, though, when I realized I was just trying to be literary and that they didn’t actually support the story line. I’m much happier with how the trilogy itself turned out.

  • Along with The Grimoire consisting of three volumes, you have mentioned that you plan to make an encyclopedia to bring all the information and artwork together. Do you think there is room for more books or stories about Ourea?

I’m working on a short stories collection now, actually, and I want to write a few novellas from the perspective of side characters to give readers a different view of the story. I don’t want to be an author who sticks to one series forever, though. Once I finish up with the encyclopedia, short stories, and novellas, I’m going to move on to my next series and end on a high note.

  • I’ve always wondered why there are authors out there using initials for names instead of writing out their names. What is your reasoning for going by “S.M. Boyce?” Is your name too long, too embarrassing, or does it just sound cooler this way?

I think every author has a different reason, but mine is “just because.” I’ve used this pen name since middle school, and it really just stuck. My first reasoning for the pen name was inspired by J. K. Rowling’s argument that writers with obviously feminine names weren’t taken as seriously. I don’t think that’s as much an issue anymore, considering that the fantasy and paranormal genres are riddled with successful women writers, but it was a very real problem then.

NOW FOR THE FUN QUESTIONS:

  • Who is your favorite author? Also, what is your favorite book (or books if there’s a series?) Please be honest, if the answer is Everyone Poops I think we should be told.

Haha! It isn’t Everyone Poops, but good guess. My favorite book is The Hobbit. It’s just a wonderful story, and I think everyone should read it at least once. The tone is so much easier to read than Lord of the Rings, so it’s much more accessible. I have to give Neil Gaiman his due, though, as one of my favorite writers. I really enjoyed Neverwhere.

  • Oh, no! You just woke up on an island in the middle of nowhere. Whoever brought you there left a pile of books next to you. If you can choose the books, what would they be? (You only need to list however many you’d like.)

Does the library from Beauty and the Beast count as an answer? There would have to be the classics, from Pride & Prejudice to Jane Eyre, as well as everything by Shakespeare. I’d like most of the YA books available today, too, so that I can finally get through my TBR pile. That’d be nice.

  • Last question, I know people save the hardest one for the end. Here it is. Which are you more a fan of: Dogs, cats, people, or wombats?

What’s with you and wombats? Hmm. I like watching people. We are social creatures, and as much as we hate each other sometimes, life wouldn’t be the same without other people.

____________________

Snag Your Copy of Lichgates:

Connect with Boyce:

____________________
Enter this giveaway for a chance to win an EBOOK copy of LICHGATES. There are also THREE sets of GRIMOIRE BOOK SWAG, so there’s a great chance you’ll win something cool. You can enter up to four entries (one for each box below) The more entries, the more chances of winning. You may only enter once for each box though, so no trying to work around the system 😛 Haha. Good luck!
GIVEAWAY ENDS 12:00am EST MARCH 31st

Giveaway Winners: 

Ebook: 

Wren B.

Swag Pack: 

H.S. Stone

Kristin A.

Hillary L.

Win the Grand Prize!

20 responses to “An Interview with Author S.M. Boyce, A Stop Along The Lichgates Hidden World Blog Tour

  1. Yay Boyce! I’ve yet to read Neverwhere, but I’ve read Stardust and I think Neil Gaiman’s a fantastic writer and a great person in general. I follow him on Tumblr and he often posts very insightful things. He also responds to fan questions on a fairly regular basis, which makes me happy since it’s not very often that big name authors do so. But enough of my rambling, what I really wanted to say was that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this interview and getting to know more about the wonderfully curious woman that Boyce is.

  2. Great interview! SM Boyce is such a beautiful person on top of being an amazing writer and reading her blog posts and interviews is always fun. She has a great natural voice in addition to her writing voice. HUGE FAN HERE!

  3. I always think it is interesting how some authors start off with a book being a stand alone then it turns out to be four or five books long. Or how some authors want a four book series and are good with just three. It is cool you ke

  4. Great interview!! I think the library from Beauty and the Beast should count. I would have never thought to just name a library or anything along those lines.

  5. bahahaha!!! Great interview Rob! I only expect a little sarcasm and laughs out of you. Wombats are cute and furry! 😀

  6. I just watched Beauty and the Beast last night 🙂 That really has nothing to do with the interview, but I thought I would add that! I would want that library too!

    • OK, with all this talk of the Beauty and the Beast’s library….does this mean I should watch the movie? I have no clue how massive this library is, but I might want it if it’s as cool as it sound.

      P.S. – My girlfriend (Jackie V, from comments above) would love to get me to watch the movie 😛

  7. I am also a big fan of Neil Gaiman. Neverwhere is probably my favorite Gaiman book, and I also enjoyed his short story collections.
    As an author who also uses my initials, I completely support S.M. Boyce. 🙂

    • Yay, another member of the wombat army!!!!!

      Also I just looked it up to make sure, wombats are indeed marsupials.

      Thanks for thinking this was the best interview 😀 I was also a fan of the character interviews. I hope you had time to check those out as well. They were fun to read.

Leave a Reply

