Change Of Address (A Poem) ……includes latest revision

Change Of Address

You do not live here any more.
Yet, each time I walk down the driveway
And open the mailbox, you are there.
I shuffle through the letters,
The flyers and all the other garbage
Only to see your name, Kurt.
It could be from the state,
Though, you haven’t been with them for 3 years.
It could be a catalogue
That you never knew you signed up for.
It could be a stupid Christmas card,
Addressed to “Mr. & Mrs. Kurt…”
Whatever those papers say,
When I open the mailbox
I see your face.
It’s garbage
Mail, to me.

fancy line

Change Of Address (revised)

You do not live here any more.

Yet, every time I walk down the driveway
and open the mailbox, you are here.
I shuffle through the letters,
the flyers and all the other garbage
only to see your name,
Kurt.

One morning the mail might be from the state,
though, you haven’t worked for them in 4 years.
Another time I might find a catalogue
that you never knew you signed up for.
Every December there seems to be
impersonal Christmas cards
addressed to “Mr. & Mrs. Kurt…”

Whatever these envelopes read,
when I open the mailbox
I see garbage,
I see your face.

7 responses to “Change Of Address (A Poem) ……includes latest revision

  1. I LOVE this. This is the kind of detail I don’t think someone thinks about unless they’ve been there (at least I wouldn’t have) and yet would ring true to anyone.

  2. Pingback: The Big Announcement is Here!!!!!!! | A Life Among The Pages

  3. As Becca said, you open up the vision of these emotions to those of us who haven’t known this sort of loss personally.

    While I’m not much of a poetry buff (just never been my thing), I do like work that can evoke an emotional response. This does the job well.

    The only thing is the unanswered question at the end. Why garbage? Of course, part of the experience might be speculation on the reader’s part?

    • The answer to that last question is dealt with more in the other poems in the collection. In ways poems should be able to “answer” itself, but at least with this one, the bigger picture can be seen in the poems that go around it.

      It’s a good thing to ask though. That’s the type of comments that help the writing process for me 🙂

  4. You capture the emotion really well. It’s funny how something as small as mail can remind us of people we don’t want to think of. Also, I read the peace out loud since poetry is like song. I love the flow of it. Very well done.

  5. Pingback: Guest Post from Robert Zimmermann | S.M. Boyce - The Blog!S.M. Boyce – The Blog!

  6. Pingback: Guest Post from Robert Zimmermann | S.M. Boyce - The Blog!

Leave a Reply

